Necklace

Originally entered in one of LitReactor‘s Flash Fiction Smackdowns (January 2013), which I won three Two Dollar Radio books with. Here it is, stapled to my site for free for your pleasure or ridicule or whatever.

Necklace
by Kelby Losack

Johnny waddles his fat ass across the playground, hands in his Wranglers like he’s some hot shit cowboy. I’ve always played the Indian.

Anyways, he walks up to Sally, and let’s just say Sally and I have shared the same glue bottle in art class all week. I haven’t asked my brother yet, but I think that means we’re dating.

Johnny starts pulling on Sally’s pony tail and laughing. All her friends are the chicken shit Barbie type, and all my friends are imaginary, so I have to take matters into my own clenched fists.

I run and jump-kick Johnny, but he’s a fatter fuck-bucket than I thought and I fall in the sandbox. He face-stomps me and I spit out blood and teeth.

I turn over and kick the lard-butt shadow standing over me square in the nuts. The other kids gasp. The fat shadow stands silent.

“What?” Johnny asks the crowd. Stupid.

I say, “Ha! Johnny has no balls!”

The other kids chant “Johnny no-nuts!” and his fat-ass shadow runs away crying.

I pick my teeth out of the sand and stand up. I don’t bother brushing myself off.

I look at Sally. She looks away. She picks up her peace sign backpack and walks inside as the bell rings.

I won’t ask my brother, but I think that means we broke up.

Oh well. The teeth in my hand are baby teeth, no biggie. I’ll put them on a necklace. I’ll wear it at school.

2 thoughts on “Necklace

  1. Q. What’s the best new sentence I’ve read today?

    A. “All her friends are the chicken shit Barbie type, and all my friends are imaginary, so I have to take matters into my own clenched fists.”

    My son wanted to know why I guffed. HAR!!

    Rick Keeney

Leave a Reply

